Hunger strike by loco drivers protesting privatisation of Indian Railways

Loco staff struck work on 15th-16th July under the banner of the All-India Loco Running Staff Association (AILRSA). The strike was called in 400 crew lobbies in 86 divisions of the Indian Railway’s 16 zones.

Protests were held in all the lobbies in the course of the strike, and several workers went on a hunger strike, but they drove their trains. Loco drivers undergoing training at the Training School went on a hunger strike for 24 hours.

AILRSA dharna-1

AILRSA dharna-1

The All-India Guards Council and several unions across the country supported the strike. The guards also demonstrated alongside the drivers and joined the hunger strikes.

The loco drivers expressed their opposition to the steps taken by the government to privatise the railways. They demand immediate cessation of privatisation in railways and fulfilment of their long standing demands.

It is a fact that loco drivers have been demanding – there should be no F.D.I in the railways, the mileage allowance of the running staff to be calculated according to the RAC 1980 formula, to cancel the NPS and reinstate the old pension scheme, the recommendations of the Safety Review Committee be implemented without delay. They have been carrying on the struggle for these demands since a long time.

AILRSA dharna-1


AILRSA dharna-1

The all-India vice-President Com. Ramsharan said that the loco drivers are demanding that the privatisation of loco workshops be halted, the operation of trains not be given in private hands, the presses run by Indian Railways should not be shut down and all loco drivers recruited after 2004 should be under the Old Pension Scheme.


Share Everywhere

hunger strike    Loco drivers    Indian Railways    Aug 1-15 2019    Struggle for Rights    Privatisation    Rights     2019   


Click to Download PDFInterview with Comrade Lal Singh, General Secretary of Communist Ghadar Party of India

by Comrade Chandra Bhan, Editor of Mazdoor Ekta Lehar

(Click thumbnail to download PDF)

History of Ghadar PartyA Presentation of Communist Ghadar Party of India

100 years ago Ghadar Party was formed by Indians in the US.It was historic milestone in our anti-colonial struggle.

The goal of this party was to organise a revolution to liberate our motherland from British servitude and establish a free and independent India with equal rights for all. It believed this to be the necessary condition for our people to hold their heads high anywhere in the world.

(Click thumbnail to download PDF)

Call of the Central Committee of Communist Ghadar Party of India, 30th August, 2012

Working class representatives from all over the country are gathering on 4th September, at a time when a titanic struggle is going on in our country. The struggle is between the majority of toiling and exploited people and a minority of exploiters. It is between the majority whose labour expands wealth and the minority who enjoy the fruits of wealth creation on the basis of their private property and positions of power.

(Click thumbnail to download PDF)

Call to the Working ClassDefeat the program of privatisation and liberalisation!

Fight with the aim of establishing workers’ and peasants’ rule!

Call of the Central Committee, Communist Ghadar Party, 23 February, 2012

(Click thumbnail to download PDF)

Necessity for the working class to take political powerThe initiating speech, at the working class conference on the Way Forward held on 23-24 December 2011, was made by comrade Lal Singh, on behalf of the Central Committee of the Communist Ghadar Party of India. The document entitled the necessity for the working class to take political power has been edited based on the discussion in the conference and is being published according to the decision the Central Committee.

(Click thumbnail to download PDF)

Power to DecideVoice of the Communist Ghadar Party of India on the Power to Decide

This publication contains three statements issued by the Central Committee of Communist Ghadar Party on 1st, 18th & 28th Aug, 2011.

(Click thumbnail to download PDF)